Problem Solvers Caucus Endorses Bipartisan Legislation to Investigate Jan. 6 Attack on U.S. Capitol

May 18, 2021
Press Release


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, the Problem Solvers Caucus formally endorsed bipartisan legislation to create an independent Commission to investigate the January 6 attack on the United States Capitol. 


The National Commission to Investigate the January 6 Attack on the United States Capitol Complex Act (H.R. 3233) would create a Commission consisting of 10 members, five Republicans and five Democrats, who would issue a final report on the facts related to the attempted insurrection and provide recommendations to ensure an attack like January 6th can never take place again.


The Commission would have the following responsibilities:

  1. Investigating and reporting upon the facts and causes of the January 6th attack on the Capitol, as well as the influencing factors that may have provoked the attack on our democracy
  2. Examining and evaluating evidence developed by relevant Federal, State, and local governments, in a manner that is respectful of ongoing investigations regarding the facts and circumstances of the attack
  3. Building upon other investigations regarding the attack and targeted violence and domestic terrorism related to such attack
  4. Reporting to the President and Congress regarding its findings, conclusions, and recommendations for corrective measures taken to prevent future acts of targeted violence and domestic terrorism (including against American democratic institutions), improve the security posture of the United States Capitol Complex in a manner that preserves the accessibility of the Capitol Complex for all Americans, and strengthen the security and resilience of the nation and American democratic institutions against domestic terrorism. 


This legislation has been endorsed by the Problem Solvers Caucus, garnering the support of more than 75-percent of the 58-member, bipartisan Caucus.




The Problem Solvers Caucus is a bipartisan group in Congress comprised of 58 members – equally divided between Democrats and Republicans – who are committed to forging bipartisan cooperation on key issues.